Marriage Licenses may be obtained from 8:30 AM - 3:30 PM Monday-Friday only. 

Marriage License Fee is $45.00

 

Effective August 1, 2018, the marriage license waiting period will be reduced to 24 hours between the time of issuance of the marriage license and the ceremony. The current waiting period is 72 hours, per LA R.S. 9:241.

The St. Helena Parish Clerk of Court is now accepting same-sex marriage license.

For more information, call (225)-222-4514

Requirements for Obtaining a Marriage License:

Location
Marriage ceremonies using marriage licenses purchased in Louisiana must be performed in Louisiana.   Marriages are recorded in the parish where the license was issued.

Relationship
State law prohibits the marriage of persons who are related by blood or adoption within the fourth degree collateral.

Age Requirement
Applicants must be 18 years of age to obtain a marriage license without parental consent. If an applicant is 16 or 17 years of age, consent of both parents is required. If younger than 16, applicant must have both parents' consent and permission from a Judge in the form of a court order.

Parents must be same as named on applicant's birth certificate, and must appear with current, official photo ID to sign permission document.  Parents must appear with bride and groom at time of application.

Sole custody documents presented by parents concerning an applicant must be certified copies from a Court.  Provisional custody by mandate documents and powers of attorney are not acceptable.

Birth Certificates/Birth Cards
Applicants must present official birth certificates or official birth cards with raised seal of the state.  Please note: Driver's licenses, State identification cards, Military identification cards, Passports, or Naturalization papers may not be substituted for birth certificates.

Original foreign language birth certificates must be translated into English by that country's Consulate per La. R.S. 13:3725.  No other translations are acceptable.  Foreign language originals must be submitted along with original translations.

Prior Marriages/Documentation
If either applicant has been married previously, applicant must provide a signed, dated copy of the final decree of divorce, or if the former spouse is deceased, a copy of the death certificate naming applicant as surviving spouse.

Original foreign language divorce and death certificates must be translated into English by that country's Consulate per La. R.S. 13:3725.  No other translations are acceptable.  Foreign language originals must be submitted along with original translations.

Social Security Numbers/Other Information
Applicants are also required to supply their Social Security numbers, residence addresses, father's full name, mother's full maiden name and cities and states of parents' birth.

If an applicant does not have a U.S. Social Security number, they must appear in person at the time of application.  The applicant will be required to write, sign and date a statement in the presence of issuing clerk stating they do not have a social security number because they are a citizen of another country.  Statements may not be prepared in advance and brought to the Clerk's office.

Identification
Applicants must present current, valid, official photo I.D.. U.S. state issued Drivers Licenses, U.S. state issued I.D. cards, U.S. Military I.D. or Passports (U.S. or foreign) are acceptable.

If only one applicant appears at the Clerk's office to apply for the license, he or she may bring a photocopy of the other party's I.D. instead of original I.D.. Appearing applicant must present original I.D. for themselves.

Fees
Marriage license fee is $45.00.

Time Requirement
Applicants must obtain the marriage license at least three days (72 hours) prior to the wedding ceremony.
  Either the bride or groom must come to the Clerk's office to apply for the license.

Marriage license expires 30 days from date and time of issue if not used.

Please note:  An Application Form must be completed when applying for a marriage license. This form must be signed in one of the following manners: Both parties before a notary or deputy clerk, One party before a notary and one party before a deputy clerk; Waiver signed by judge or justice of the peace (they must be in the territorial jurisdiction of the court) valid only for the absent party; Military Exception - individual appearing attaches a copy of the other's military ID; only appearing party needs to sign application.

If only one applicant appears at the Clerk's office to apply for the license, they must bring all required documents for both parties and provide all information for their bride or groom as well as for themselves.

Effective August 1, 2018, the marriage license waiting period will be reduced to 24 hours between the time of issuance of the marriage license and the ceremony. The current waiting period is 72 hours, per LA R.S. 9:241.